26) J.R. Swierk, Blocking Layers for Directional Charge Transport. In Ultrathin Oxide Layers for Solar, Electrocatalytic, and Thermal Catalytic Systems; Esposito, D., Frei, H. Eds.; Royal Society of Chemistry, in press. 

25) B.G. Stevenson, E.H. Spielvogel**, E.A. Loiaconi**, V. Wambua, R.V. Nakhamiyayev**, J.R. Swierk*, Mechanistic investigations of an α-Amino Arylation Photoredox Reaction," J. Am. Chem. Soc., ASAP Article.  DOI: 10.1021/jacs.1c03693

Papers from before Binghamton University

24) B. Koronkiewicz, J.R. Swierk, K.P. Regan, J. Mayer, "Shallow Distance Dependence for Proton-Coupled Tyrosine Oxidation in Oligoproline Peptides," J. Am. Chem. Soc., in press. DOI: 10.1021/jacs.0c01429

23) J. Spies, M. Hilibrand, J. Neu, S. Ostresh, J.R. Swierk, C.A. Schmuttenmaer, "Suspensions of Semiconducting Nanoparticles in Nafion for Transient Spectroscopy and Terahertz Photoconductivity Measurements," Anal. Chem., 202092, 4187-4192. DOI: 10.1021/acs.analchem.9b05723

22) J. Neu, K.P. Regan, J.R. Swierk, C.A. Schmuttenmaer*, "Applicability of the Thin-film Approximation in Terahertz Photoconductivity Measurement," Appl. Phys. Lett., 2018113, 233901. DOI: 10.1063/1.5052232

21) Jiang, A.J. Matula, J.R. Swierk, N. Romano, Y. Wu, V.S. Batista*, R.H. Crabtree*, J.S. Lindsey*, H. Wang*,  G.W. Brudvig*, "Unusual Stability of a Bacteriochlorin Electrocatalyst under Reductive Conditions. A Case Study on CO2 Conversion to CO," ACS Catal.2018, 8, 10131-10136. DOI:10.1021/acscatal.8b02991

20) C.T. Nemes, J.R. Swierk, C.A. Schmuttenmaer*, “A Terahertz-Transparent Electrochemical Cell for In Situ THz Spectroelectrochemistry,” Anal. Chem.2018, 90, 4389–4396. DOI: 10.1021/acs.analchem.7b04204

19) J. Jiang, J. Spies, J.R. Swierk, A.J. Matula, K.P. Regan, N. Romano, B.J. Brennan, R.H. Crabtree*, V.S. Batista*, C.A. Schmuttenmaer*, G.W. Brudvig*, “Direct Interfacial Electron Transfer High-Potential Porphyrins into Semiconductor Surfaces: A Comparison of Linker and Anchoring Groups,” J. Phys. Chem. C2018122, 13529-13539. DOI: 10.1021/acs.jpcc.7b12405

17) J.R. Swierk*, N.S. McCool, S. Hëdstrom, S.J. Konezny*, C.T. Nemes, P. Xu, V.S. Batista*, T.E. Mallouk*, C.A. Schmuttenmaer*, “Acid-Induced Mixed Electron and Proton Conduction in Thin ZrO2 Films,” Chem. Commun.201854, 7971-7974. DOI: 10.1039/C8CC04189J​


18) J.R. Swierk* and T.D. Tilley*, “Electrocatalytic Water Oxidation by Single Site and Small Nuclearity Clusters of Cobalt,” J. Electrochem. Soc., 2018, 165, H3028-H3033. DOI: 10.1149/2.0041804jes

16) K.P. Regan, J.R. Swierk, J. Neu, C.A. Schmuttenmaer*, "Frequency-Dependent Terahertz Transient Photoconductivity of Mesoporous SnO2 Films," J. Phys. Chem. C2017, 121, 15949.  DOI: 10.1021/acs.jpcc.7b02318

15) J. Jiang, J.R. Swierk, K.L. Materna, S. Hëdstrom, S.-H. Lee, R.H. Crabtree, C.A. Schmuttenmaer, V.S. Batista, G.W. Brudvig, “SnO2- and TiO2-Supported High Redox Potential Porphyrins for Photoelectrochemical Applications,” J. Phys. Chem. C, 2017, 120, 28971-28982. DOI: 10.1021/acs.jpcc.6b10350

14) J.R. Swierk*, K.P. Regan, J. Jiang, G.W. Brudvig, C.A. Schmuttenmaer*, "Rutile TiO2 as an Anode Material for Water-Splitting Dye-Sensitized Photoelectrochemical Cells" ACS Energ. Lett., 20161, 603-606.  DOI: 10.1021/acsenergylett.6b00279

13) B.P. Stephenson*, N. Ihasz, D.C. Byrd, J.R. Swierk, L. Swierk, “Assessment of temperature-dependent color change in male and female Eastern Fence Lizards (Sceloporus undulatus) using spectroradiometry,” Biol. J. Linnean Soc., 2017, 120, 396-409. DOI: 10.1111/bij.12870

12) N.S. McCool, J.R. Swierk, C.T. Nemes, C.A. Schmuttenmaer*, T. E. Mallouk*, "Dynamics of Electron Injection in SnO2-TiO2 Core-Shell Electrodes for Water-splitting Dye-sensitized Photoelectrochemical Cells,” J. Phys. Chem. Lett., 20167, 2930-2934. DOI: 10.1021/acs.jpclett.6b01528

11) J. Jiang, J.R. Swierk, S. Hëdstrom, A.J. Matula, R.H. Crabtree*, V.S. Batista*, C.A. Schmuttenmaer*, G.W. Brudvig*, “Molecular Design of Light-Harvesting Photosensitizers: Effect of Varied Linker Conjugation on Interfacial Electron Transfer,” Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys.2016, 18, 18678-18682. DOI: 10.1039/c6cp04377a

10) N.S. McCool, J.R. Swierk, C.T. Nemes, C.A. Schmuttenmaer*, T. E. Mallouk*, "Proton-Induced Trap States, Injection and Recombination Dynamics in Water-Splitting Dye-Sensitized Photoelectrochemical Cells" ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces20168, 16727-16735.  DOI: 10.1021/acsami.6b05362 

9)  J.R. Swierk, N.S. McCool, C.T. Nemes, T. E. Mallouk*, C. A. Schumttenmaer*, "Ultrafast Electron Injection Dynamics of Photoanodes for Water-Splitting Dye-Sensitized Photoelectrochemical Cells ”  J. Phys. Chem. C, 2016120, 5940-5948.  DOI: 10.1021/acs.jpcc.6b00749

8) J.R. Swierk*, S. Klaus, L. Trotochaud, A.T. Bell, T.D. Tilley*, "An electrochemical study of the energetics of the oxygen evolution reaction at nickel iron (oxy)hydroxide catalysts," J. Phys. Chem. C, 2015119, 19022-19029.  DOI: 10.1021/acs.jpcc.5b05861

7) Y. Zhao, N.M. Vargas-Barbosa, M.E. Strayer, N.S. McCool, M-E Pandelia, T.P. Saunders**, J.R. Swierk, J. Callejas, L. Jensen, T. E. Mallouk*, “The role of iridium hydroxides in the synthesis and properties of iridium oxide nanoparticles,” J. Am. Chem. Soc.2015137, 8749-8757. DOI: 10.1021/jacs.5b03470

6)  J.R. Swierk, N.S. McCool, T. E. Mallouk*, “Dynamics of electron recombination and transport in water-splitting dye-sensitized photoanodes,” J. Phys. Chem. C2015, 119, 13858-13867. DOI: 10.1021/acs.jpcc.5b01442

5)  J.R. Swierk, D.D. Méndez-Hernádez, N.S. McCool, P. Liddell, Y. Terazono, I. Pahk,  J.J. Tomlin, N.V. Oster, T.A. Moore, A.L. Moore, D. Gust, T.E. Mallouk*, “Metal-free organic sensitizers for use in water-splitting dye-sensitized photoelectrochemical cells,” Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A.2015112, 1681-1686. DOI: 10.1073/pnas.1414901112

4) J.R. Swierk, N.S. McCool, T.P. Saunders**, G.D. Barber, T.E. Mallouk*, “Effects of electron trapping and protonation on the efficiency of water-splitting dye-sensitized solar cells,” J. Am. Chem. Soc.2014131, 10974-10982. DOI: 10.1021/ja5040705

3) J.R. Swierk, N.S. McCool, T.P. Saunders**, G.D. Barber, M.E. Strayer, N.M. Vargas-Barbosa, T. E. Mallouk*, “Photovoltage effects of sintered IrO2 nanoparticle catalysts in water-splitting dye- sensitized photoelectrochemical cells”J. Phys. Chem. C2014, 118, 17046-17053 DOI: 10.1021/jp500589n

2) J.R. Swierk and T. E. Mallouk*, "Design and development of photoanodes for water-splitting dye-sensitized photoelectrochemical cells," Chem. Soc. Rev., 2013, 42, 2357-2387.  DOI: 10.1039/c2cs35246j

1) Y. Zhao, J.R. Swierk, J. D. Megiatto, Jr., B. Sherman, W. J. Youngblood, D. D. Qin, D. M. Lentz, A. L. Moore, T. A. Moore, D. Gust, and T. E. Mallouk*, "Improving the efficiency of water splitting in dye-sensitized solar cells by using a biomimetic electron transfer mediator," Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A., 2012, 109, 15612-15615.  DOI: 10.1073/pnas.1118339109   


*Corresponding author

**Undergraduate Mentee